This prize is awarded in memory of John Vincent McLoughlin, KM, MRIA, FFDRCSI, FTCD, PhD (Lond), MA (DU), MSc (NUI), to the candidate with the highest mark in the Diploma examination.

The Vincent McLoughlin prize is a great testimony to Vincent’s beliefs. Throughout his life Vincent encouraged and inspired many students, colleagues, relatives, friends and neighbours to go beyond the limiting boundaries set by themselves and others, and instead to aspire, to believe in themselves and to question everything. One of his favourite quotes was from Vergil’s opening to the Aeneid: ‘Fortunate the person who can discover the causes of things (Felix, qui potest rerum cognoscere causas)’.

Vincent McLoughlin Prize Winners:

2020 Greta Fitzgerald
2019 Ioanna Politi
2018 Nicola Morgan
2017 Michael Donnelly

Vincent McLoughlin Prize

MGDS Session 1
Please note: In order to protect the intellectual property rights of the owner and to prevent unauthorised copying, sharing or distribution of materials, your user account details and IP address are recorded when accessing the Faculty's online learning materials.


Video playback is available below...



Once you have watched this video in full, please click here to provide your feedback and receive your CPD certificate.