The Faculty of Dentistry is hugely proud to have conferred 754 new Fellows, Members and Diplomates on Monday, July 4th 2022.  This is the largest conferring ceremony in the Faculty of Dentistry's history and the first stand-alone Dentistry Conferring Ceremony for the Faculty.

Commenting on the conferring's, Professor Albert Leung, Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry, RCSI said 'This is the first face-to-face conferring in two-and-a half years, marking RCSI’s resilience and strength against the immense challenges of COVID-19, bringing everyone together under the RCSI family once again on this very special occasion, after some notable on-line conferring in the last couple of years.  We celebrate the remarkable tenacity and hard work of the 754 of you today in successfully gaining your qualifications from RCSI. It is remarkable that so many of you from five continents have consistently shown such faith and confidence in the Faculty of Dentistry RCSI and our examinations, and it is a huge pleasure to confer your much deserved RCSI qualifications today'.

The Faculty of Dentistry awards included 235 Diplomas in Primary Care Dentistry (Dip PCD RCSI), 455 Memberships of the Faculty of Dentistry (MFDRCSI), 37 Memberships in General Dental Surgery of the Faculty of Dentistry (MGDSRCSI), 1 Intercollegiate Specialty Fellowship in Paediatric Dentistry and 1 Intercollegiate Specialty Fellowship in Restorative Dentistry and, 17 Fellowships of the Faculty of Dentistry (FFDRCSI) and 7 Fellowships of the Faculty of Dentistry (FFDRCSI) Ad Eundem.  The prestigious FFD RCSI Ad Eundems were awarded to Dr. Vicky Adams, Dr. Amanda Beresford, Professor Igor Blum, Professor Mark Latta, Professor Keung Leung, Dr. Niall McGuinness and Dr. Jamie Toole.

The July 2022 RCSI Conferring Ceremony can be viewed via the RCSI YouTube channel here 

Image 1  Image 2

Image 3  Image 4

MGDS Session 1
Please note: In order to protect the intellectual property rights of the owner and to prevent unauthorised copying, sharing or distribution of materials, your user account details and IP address are recorded when accessing the Faculty's online learning materials.


Video playback is available below...



Once you have watched this video in full, please click here to provide your feedback and receive your CPD certificate.

Chitta Chowdhury


PhD (Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Asahi University School of Dentistry, Japan - 1991)
FFDRCSI (By exam : Oral Surgery with Oral Medicine, RCSI - 2004)
MPH (The University of Manchester, UK - 2009)
MFDS Glasgow (Ad Eundem : RCPS Glasgow - 2019)
BDS (Dhaka University - 1980)
DAND (PG Dip Applied Nutri and Dietetics, Dhaka University, 1982)

Current Posts:

Honorary Professor and PhD Co-supervisor, Faculty of Health, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK.
Visiting Professor, Osaka Dental University, Japan.

Grace Kelly


BDS 2003
MFDS 2009
Dip Hyp UCL 2011
DSCD 2013
MSCD RCSP (Glas) 2013
FFD RCSI (Ad Eundem) 2016
MSc 2017

Current Post:

Hospital Practice - Senior Lecturer/Consultant in Special Care Dentistry, Cardiff University, UK.

Richeal Ni Riordain


BDS 2002
PhD Oral Medicine 2011
MBBS 2014
MA Teaching and Learning in Higher Education 2018
Certificate in Healthcare Management 2018
FDS Oral Medicine RCS(Eng) 2018
FFD RCSI (Ad Eundem) 2020

Current Posts:

Consultant/Senior Lecturer in Oral Medicine, University College Cork.
Honorary Associate Professor of Oral Medicine, University College London.
Regional Dental Academic and Research Advisor, Health Education England in London, Kent, Surrey and Sussex, UK.

Deepak Thomas


B Dent Surg 1992
MB BChBAO 2003
MRCS (Intercollegiate) 2007
MSc 2018

Current Posts:

Consultant Oral Surgeon at the Beacon Hospital Dublin and Kingsbridge Hospital Sligo.
Specialist Oral Surgeon at Northwest Oral Surgery, Sligo and Northern Cross Dental, Dublin
Limited to Private Practice.

Fergal Rory Maguire


BDS NUI 2001


M. Phil. Biomaterials  Science (University of Birmingham) 2007

M. Dent. Ch. Periodontics (U. Dubl.) 2008

FFD RCSI Periodontics 2008

Diploma of the European Federation of Periodontology 2008 

Ph. D Oral Biosciences (U. Dubl.) 2014


Current Post:

Private Practice limited to Periodontics and Implant Dentistry

John Ed O'Connell


BDS NUI 2004



MB, BCh, BAO, BA 2012


FRCS (OMFS) 2019


Current Post: 

Fellow in Head and Neck Oncology with Reconstruction, UK.

Deepak Thomas


B Dent Surg 1992

MB BChBAO 2003

MRCS( Intercollegiate)2007 

MSc 2018



Current Post:

Consultant Oral Surgeon at the Beacon Hospital Dublin and Kingsbridge Hospital Sligo

Specialist Oral Surgeon at Northwest Oral Surgery, Sligo and Northern Cross Dental, Dublin

Limited to Private Practice

Albert Yeung


BDS Glasgow 1989

MMedSci Sheffield 1999


MPHe Manchester 2004



FHEA 2007

FFPH 2007

MPhil Manchester 2010

ACIEA 2020

MCGDent 2021


Current Post: 

Consultant in Dental Public Health, NHS Lanarkshire, Scotland

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow

Professional Adviser, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman